Oct 13, 2007

Navratri in Mumbai

Navratri is a Hindu festival of worship and dance. The word literally means nine nights. During these nine nights and ten days, nine forms of Shakti -- which is a metaphor for goddess Durga are worshipped. Durga represents female divinity.

The following nine forms of goddesses are worshipped.

1. Durga -- the inaccessible one

2. Bhadrakali

3. Amba or Jagadamba -- the mother of universe

4. Annapurna -- the one who bestows grains

5. Sarvamangala -- the one who gives joy

6. Bhairavi

7. Chandi

8. Lalita

9. Bhavani

The Navratri begins on the first day of the Hindu lunar month of Ashwin. The first three days are devoted to Durga who destroys all impurities, vices, and defects. The next three days are devoted to Laxmi, who bestows inexhaustible wealth. The final three days devoted to Saraswati who bestows wisdom.

Nightly Garba and Dandiya dances can be observed all over Mumbai.